Ханна Нидал
Hannah Nydahl (1946-2007) was a translator, a lama, a confidante of the highest lamas of Karma Kagyu tradition.
 
 

Main events

20.11.2017 - 20.11.2017

Sorry, this entry is only available in Russian.

14.12.2017 - 20.12.2017

Sorry, this entry is only available in Russian.

13.01.2018 - 31.01.2018

In general, the traditional pilgrimage tour will last for one month. The ...

 

Upcoming Events

 
 
Home  → About us  → News  → Askat and Kareliya retreat centres hosted thangka painting courses with Nepalese artist Dawa Lhadipa

Askat and Kareliya retreat centres hosted thangka painting courses with Nepalese artist Dawa Lhadipa

04.08.2013

In summer of 2013, two Buddhist retreat centers, one in Karelia and one in the Altai Mountains (Askat village), hosted courses on painting thangkas (traditional Buddhist paintings) in the Karma Gadri style under the guidance of the famous Nepalese artist Dawa Lhadipa. Dawa started painting at an early age and met his first thangka art teacher when he was only 13 years old. Afterwards, he studied under various masters of the Karma Gadri style that is typical for the Karma Kagyu Lineage of Tibetan Buddhism. Since 2000s Dawa Lhadipa has been visiting Karma Guen Buddhist Centre in Spain on a regular basis, doing paintings inside the centre’s gompa (a meditation hall). Currently the artist is painting the room of Mahakala, an enlightened protector of all Buddhist teachings.

Since the first course of that kind, which was held in Karelia in 2010, students have shown improvements with each year. During the course held in 2012 they fully finished one thangka; and this time young painters completed two thangkas and even bordered one of them with silk tissue following the traditional canons.


The Karelia course participants were lucky to enjoy good weather throughout their studies, despite the well-known severity of Karelian nature. There’s a small miracle here  – it was cold when the course started, and one of the students asked the master to make a picture of the sun on canvas, hoping for a magic effect of the Buddhist art. Dawa Lhadipa satisfied her request, and by the next day the weather set warm. 

Askat has hosted such a course for the second time now. The previous event, held in autumn last year, gathered around 30 people. For almost all of them it was their first attempt at painting thangkas. Half the attendants had never taken drawing classes before. However, everybody managed to make an image of the Buddha under skillful guidance of master Dawa.

The course held in summer of 2013 was attended by 17 people, both newcomers and sophomores. While some students copied canonical wind and fire patterns, others primed canvases, learned how to blend paints and transferred pencil drawings onto canvas. As recommended by Dawa, one of the retreat days is usually a day-off, and all participants go out to get to know the surroundings better. In autumn of 2012 the students, together with the master, enjoyed marvelous Kurayskaya Step and North-Chuyskiy Ridge, and in June of 2013 they studied petroglyphs in the Tchemal Region and took delight in the views of the full-flowing KatunRiver and the Kuyusinskiy waterfall.

Dawa Lhadipa’s plans are to continue visiting Russia regularly to teach Buddhist art and preserve the Tibetan cultural heritage by sharing ancient knowledge with the next generations. Stay tuned and learn about the upcoming courses.

Share:

 
Subscription:
«Buddhism today»
RSS
 
 

Regional news

Лама Оле Нидал
Начиная с 1972 года Оле Нидал, первый европейский лама и мастер медитации, основал более 650 центров медитации по всему миру
 
 

Главные события

03.02.2018 - 31.12.2018

Февраль 3: Перт (Австралия) 11: Сидней (Австралия) 56-19: Глен-Туи (Новая Зеландия) Март 2-4: Гонконг 9-11: Кейптаун (Южная Африка) 20: ...

13.08.2018 - 22.09.2019

25-28 января — Краснодар 8-10 февраля — Новосибирск 15-17 февраля — Хабаровск 23-25 февраля — ...

 

Ближайшие события

 
 
Главная  → О нас  → Новости  → В буддийских ретритных центрах Аската и Карелии прошли курсы тханка-живописи с непальским мастером Давой Лхадипой

В буддийских ретритных центрах Аската и Карелии прошли курсы тханка-живописи с непальским мастером Давой Лхадипой

04.08.2013

Летом 2013 года в двух буддийских ретритных центрах – в Карелии и на Горном Алтае (в селе Аскат) прошли курсы по рисованию тханок, традиционных буддийских изображений, в стиле Карма-Гадри под руководством непальского художника Дава Лхадипа. Этот известный мастер начал рисовать в раннем возрасте и уже в 13 лет встретил своего первого учителя по созданию тханок. В дальнейшем Дава Лхадипа учился у разных мастеров стиля Карма-Гадри, который характерен для традиции школы Карма-Кагью тибетского буддизма. С 2000-х годов Дава Лхадипа регулярно посещает буддийский центр Карма Гён в Испании и расписывает гомпу (зал для медитаций). В настоящее время Дава Лхадипа работает над комнатой Махакалы, просветленного защитника буддийского Учения. 

Первый курс по рисованию тханок в Карелии был организован в 2010 году, и с каждым годом результаты учеников становятся все лучше. В прошлом году за время курса была закончена одна тханка, в этом году – уже две, причем одну из них успели обшить шелковой тканью по традиционным канонам. 


Суровая карельская природа порадовала участников хорошей погодой. Произошло и маленькое чудо – в начале курса было холодно, и одна из художниц попросила мастера нарисовать солнце на холсте, надеясь на волшебную силу буддийского искусства. Дава Лхадипа прислушался к просьбе, и на следующий день установилась теплая погода.

В селе Аскат подобный курс прошел уже во второй раз. Предыдущее мероприятие осенью прошлого года собрало около тридцати участников. Практически все они впервые попробовали себя в качестве тханкописцев, а половина из присутствовавших учеников никогда не училась рисованию специально. Однако под умелым руководством мастера Давы у всех получилось изобразить Будду.

На летнем ретрите в этом году присутствовало 17 человек, не только новички, но и «второкурсники». Пока одни копировали канонические изображения огня и ветра, другие грунтовали холсты, учились смешивать краски, переводили карандашное изображение на холст. По рекомендации Давы один из ретритных дней обычно объявляется выходным, и вся группа отправляется в познавательную поездку по окрестностям. Осенью 2012 года студенты вместе с мастером любовались прекрасной Курайской степью и Северо-Чуйчским хребтом, а в июне 2013 года изучали петроглифы Чемальского района и наслаждались видами полноводной Катуни и Куюсинского водопада.

Дава Лхадипа планирует еще не раз посетить Россию, чтобы преподавать буддийское искусство и сохранять наследие тибетской культуры, передавая древние знания следующим поколениям. Следите за новостями о предстоящих курсах на этом сайте.

Интервью с учителем

Статьи о буддийском искусстве

 

 

Поделиться:

 
Подписаться:
«Буддизм сегодня»
RSS
 
 
 

«Неведение – это эмоция или мысль, которая ослепляет нас и не позволяет понять суть явлений»

Кармапа ХVII Тринле Тхае Дордже

Новости центров