Main events

12.12.2017 - 12.12.2017

Sorry, this entry is only available in Russian.

14.12.2017 - 20.12.2017

Sorry, this entry is only available in Russian.

13.01.2018 - 31.01.2018

In general, the traditional pilgrimage tour will last for one month. The ...

 

Upcoming Events

 
 
Home → Practice

Practice

Theoretical teachings are certainly very important, since they point to the goal and give clear view on the things. If a Buddhist view is close to a person, then Dharma text inspire, bring to contemplation and awaken inner wisdom. However just words, even very wise words, would not be enough: once they will be forgotten. As Indian Yogi of X century Tilopa said: “Theory is a patch, it will become worn out and fall off”.    

It’s not possible to be a Buddhist while sharing only the view without applying the methods. Knowledge for the sake of knowledge is meaningless: one only needs it to support practice, which changes a person. Buddhist doesn’t “confess” Buddhism but practices it. Meditation, or formal practice, is the exercise for the mind (sometimes body and speech as well) used to achieve a definite spiritual goal.

However it’s not enough to just know the theory and meditate: meditation for the sake of meditation is meaningless. Its purpose is to help a person to live better, die better and get reborn better. Therefore we also need particular instructions for behavior in everyday life. Those can be called informal practice. Life is full of surprises: we occasionally face some unexpected obstacles, we lose some things; the circumstances don’t always shape up the way we want. People experience a lot of influences, interact with each other, carry responsibility for themselves, fulfill some obligations in the society etc. Along this one needs to stay compassionate and attentive to keep the balance, be joyful when possible and useful for others.   

 

 

Share:

 
Subscription:
«Buddhism today»
RSS
 
 

Practice

Статьи

Главные события

11.03.2017 - 01.09.2017

Расписание медитационных курсов и встреч составлено до августа месяца включительно...   23-26 марта — ...

 

Ближайшие события

 
 
Главная → Практика

Практика

Теоретические поучения, безусловно, очень важны, поскольку показывают цель и дают ясный взгляд на вещи. Если буддийский взгляд человеку близок, то тексты Дхармы вдохновляют, наводят на размышления и пробуждают внутреннюю мудрость. Но одних слов, даже очень мудрых, недостаточно: однажды они забудутся. Как сказал в Х веке индийский йогин Тилопа, «теория – что заплатка, она обветшает и отпадет».

Невозможно быть буддистом, если разделяешь только воззрение, но не применяешь методов. Знание ради знания не имеет смысла: оно нужно лишь для того, чтобы способствовать практике, меняющей человека. Буддист не «исповедует» буддизм, а практикует его. Медитация, или формальная практика, – это упражнения для ума (иногда также тела и речи), применяемые для достижения определенной духовной цели.

Но буддисту мало только знать теорию и медитировать: медитация ради самой медитации не имеет смысла. Ее назначение в том, чтобы помочь человеку лучше жить, лучше умирать и лучше перерождаться.  Поэтому необходимы также определенные правила поведения в повседневной жизни. Их можно назвать неформальной практикой. Жизнь полна сюрпризов: подчас мы наталкиваемся на неожиданные препятствия, что-то теряем; события далеко не всегда складываются так, как мы хотим. Человек испытывает массу влияний, взаимодействует с другими людьми, несет за них ответственность, выполняет какие-то обязанности в обществе и т.д. Во всем этом нужно оставаться сочувственным и внимательным, чтобы сохранять равновесие, по возможности радоваться и быть полезным для других.

Поделиться:

 
Подписаться:
«Буддизм сегодня»
RSS
 
 
 

«Все гоняются за иллюзорными явлениями и всегда стараются достичь того, чего в действительности не существует. В этом проблема невротического существования»

Тилопа, 928–1009

Практика

Статьи